India Revises Covid-19 Guidelines For International Arrivals

India Revises Covid-19 Guidelines For International Arrivals

As concerns over the new Covid-19 variant – Omicron, continue to rise, the centre on Sunday shared new guidelines for international travellers visiting India. However, the new guidelines will come into force starting from 1 December.

The travellers arriving in India are requested to submit mandate travel details of 14 days and required to upload their negative RT-PCR test report on the Air Suvidha portal before the journey – these new rules come as a part of the new Covid-19 guidelines. In addition, international travellers are asked to fill in a self-declaration form.

Here are a few nations that are termed at the moment as “at-risk” countries for carrying Omicron – The United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong, and Israel. People arriving from these countries must quarantine if tested positive. And the travellers infected with the new Covid strain – Omicron, will need to follow more stringent quarantine rules.


A 7-day home quarantine is mandatory, even if they are tested negative.

The announcement comes after a meeting was held with various experts including Dr VK Paul, a member of NITI Aayog, Dr Vijay Raghavan, Principal Scientific Adviser to the Prime Minister and senior officers from Health, Civil Aviation and other ministries.

As the new virus variant B.1.1.529 gripped the world on Friday, the World Health Organisation moved to name it Omicron and designated it as a “variant of concern”. The new variant has created panic as countries have banned flights from South Africa where it was first discovered including other African countries.

Apart from South Africa, the new variant was also discovered in Botswana, Israel and Hong Kong. As of now, it has spread to 15 different countries worldwide.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

2 × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!